Select Page

Connectional Ministries equips and empowers local churches in the South Carolina Conference to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world. Connecting local congregations in shared ministry is the prayerful effort of Connectional Ministries. These connections are established through three avenues.

Conference
Connectional
Ministries

Ministry opportunities, training and resources to help local churches be effective in advocacy, discipleship, lay leadership and outreach.

District
Connectional
Ministries

Offer a connection to local ministries and provide resources for advocacy, discipleship, lay leadership and outreach.

District
Congregational
Specialists

Partner with local churches to help them equip and empower their congregations to discern and fulfill their God-given call to ministry.

Areas of Connectional Ministries

Advocacy

Rev. Bernie Mazyck | Convener
bwmazyck@umcsc.org

• Christian Unity &
Interreligious Concerns
• Church & Society
• Commission on the
Status & Role of Women
Ethnic Local Church Concerns
Native American Ministries
• Peace With Justice
• Religion & Race
United Methodist Women

Discipleship

Lou Jordan | Convener
rjusc@aol.com

Adult Ministries
• Archives & History
Camps & Retreats
Campus Ministries
& Higher Education
• Education
• Evangelism
Ministries With Young People
United Methodist Men
• Worship

Outreach

Rev. Zachary Dillard | Convener
zhdillard@umcsc.org

Advance Special Ministries
Aldersgate Special Needs
Disaster Recovery
Disaster Response
• Global Ministries
• Health & Welfare
Hunger Ministries
• Mission Interns
Salkehatchie
UMVIM

Lay Leadership

Barbara Ware | Lay Leader
conferencelayleader@umcsc.org

Lay Leadership
Lay Servant Ministries
• Spiritual Formation
• Stewardship

Here to help

Rev. Millie Nelson Smith

Director

mnelsonsmith@umcsc.org
803-786-9486, Ext. 313

Rev. Ross Chellis

 Convener, Conference Connectional Ministries

erchellis@umcsc.org

Tammy Fulmer

Assistant to the Director

tfulmer@umcsc.org
803-786-9486, Ext. 313

Gail Corn

Administrative Assistant

gcorn@umcsc.org
803-735-8773

Doris Seals

Administrative Assistant

dseals@umcsc.org
803-726-6735

Resources