Select Page

Lay Leadership works to create a culture of call so laity can effectively partner with clergy as they lead the church on the local, district and conference levels of the South Carolina Conference.

WHAT WE DO

• Equip, empower and inspire laity to enthusiastically make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.

• Foster awareness of the role of laity.

• Develop programs for leadership and spiritual development to strengthen the local church.

• Provide organization, direction and support for the growth of church leaders.

• Lay and clergy, we are a conference dedicated to making a difference in our world.

CONFERENCE LAY OFFICERS

Barbara Ware

Conference Lay Leader
conferencelayleader@umcsc.org

Valerie Brooks-Madden

Conference Lay Leader Nominee
valerie.brooks8@gmail.com

Rev. Joey McDonald

Cabinet Representative
jamcdonald@umcsc.org

Lay Leadership
Advisory Team

Lisa Fusco (chairperson)
At-Large Laity Representative
lfusco@epworthsc.org

Tyler Cattenhead
Young Adult Representative

Jeff Fogle
District Lay Leader Representative

Sylvia Green Harris
Lay Servant Ministries Representative

Herman Lightsey
Past President, United Methodist Men

Marlene Spencer
Past President,
United Methodist Women

Cassie Watson
At-Large Laity Representative

Tammy Fulmer

Lay Leadership Administrative Support
tfulmer@umcsc.org | 803-786-9486

DISTRICT LAY LEADERS

Anderson District

Jeff Fogle
jrfogle@bainc.com

Charleston District

Katrina Patton
katrinapatton@msn.com

Columbia District

Michael Jennings
mej1998@yahoo.com

Florence District

Tracy Johnson
fldistlayleader@umcsc.org

Greenville District

Chandra Dillard
chandra.dillard@furman.edu

Greenwood District

Tony Watson
53twatson@gmail.com

Hartsville District

Sarah Horace-Johnson
mshorace2002@gmail.com

Marion District

Michael Toms
tomslegion1@aol.com

Orangeburg District

Sheila Shanklin
shanklins@bellsouth.net

Rock Hill District

Stacey Newlon
scnewlon@gmail.com

Spartanburg District

Rick Hammett
rhammettdll@gmail.com

Walterboro District

Karen Kendo
kkendo52@gmail.com

LAY LEADERSHIP EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS

Lay Servant
Ministries Director

Becky Green
beckygrn0@gmail.com

United Methodist
Men President

Marvin Horton
mjhcont@gmail.com

United Methodist
Women President

Cathy Ford
cathylford@gmail.com