Select Page

Annual Conference Awards

Five awards are given each year to outstanding clergy and laity in the South Carolina Conference of The United Methodist Church.
All nomination forms must be submitted by email. See the nomination forms for the appropriate email address.
Application deadline for all awards:

April 5, 2024

Provides an incentive for churches to embrace new ministries each year geared toward growth and outreach. The award enables small and large churches to receive recognition. Criteria include:

  • An increase in Sunday school attendance and/or enhancement of Christian education ministry;
  • A “new work” that impacts growth;
  • Members received by profession of faith or rededication one for every 100 members;
  • Emphasis on youth ministries that demonstrate growth; and
  • All apportionments paid in full for 2023, or a 25 percent increase in apportionment payments compared to 2022.

Sponsor: Board of Evangelism

Download 5-Star Award
nomination form

Presented to a person who has performed outstanding service in working for racial justice. Laity or clergy of the S.C. Conference are eligible if she or he has shown a strong commitment to Christian social justice for at least five years (unless the individual is a youth).

Specific efforts toward elimination of racism and/or building inclusiveness and/or empowerment of persons considered a minority (racially or ethnically) is a criterion, as is Christian character and servanthood.

Sponsor: Conference Committee on Religion and Race

Download Bethea Award
nomination form

Named in honor of the founder of the South Carolina United Methodist Volunteers in Mission, this award is given to one clergy and one layperson who exemplify extraordinary volunteer mission service within the S.C. Conference of the United Methodist Church, beyond the local church.

Sponsor: Conference Board of Global Ministries

Download Watson Award
nomination form

Named in honor of a United Methodist deaconess, this award is given to a person or organization in the S.C. Conference who has built bridges of understanding by promoting equity and inclusiveness without regard to race, gender, age, handicap or economic condition.

Sponsor: General Commission on the Status and Role of Women.

Download Boultinghouse
Award nomination form

Established in 1980, this award honors pastors and laypersons for responsible evangelism in the local church. In 1981, the national award was introduced to annual conferences to choose a clergy person, a layperson and a youth each year.

The award recognizes people who are effective in making disciples of Jesus Christ, whether through speaking, personal witnessing, inspiring the church to be involved in evangelism, etc. This person may or may not have the best statistical record and may be from any size church. Nominees’ lifestyles bring honor to Christ and the church, and works in ways that are in keeping with United Methodist history and traditions.

Sponsor: Foundation for Evangelism

Download Denman Award
nomination form