

SOUTH CAROLINA ANNUAL CONFERENCE, THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS

By authority of *The Book of Discipline* of The United Methodist Church, I hereby fix these appointments for the South Carolina Annual Conference for the 2023-2024 conference year. As commissioned, licensed, consecrated, or ordained members of the covenant of ministry, let us offer ourselves without reserve to the responsibilities and opportunities of these appointments.

L.Jonathan Holston Resident Bishop South Carolina Annual Conference June 6, 2023

STATUS KEY

- AL Administrative Location (¶ 359)
- AM Associate Member (¶¶ 322, 369.1, 635.2h)
- AF Affiliate Member (**¶** 334.5, 344.4, 586.4)
- DC Deaconess (¶ 1913.2)
- **DM** Diaconal Minister (2004 Discipline ¶ 369.1)
- DR Retired Diaconal Minister (consecrated under provisions of 1992 or earlier *Discipline*) (¶ 357)
- **FD** Deacon in full connection (¶ 330)
- **FE** Elder in full connection (¶ 335)
- FL Full time Local Pastor (¶ 318.1)
- HL Honorable Location\Honorable Location Retired (¶¶ 358.1, 358.3)
- LM Certified Lay Minister (¶ 268)
- OA Associate Member of other Annual Conference (¶ 346.1)
- **OD** Deacon Member of other annual conference (¶ 331.8)
- OE Elder Member of other annual conference or other Methodist denomination (¶346.1)
- **OF** Full Member of other denomination (¶ 346.2)
- **OP** Provisional Member of other Annual Conference
- **OR** Retired Member of other Annual Conference (¶ 346.1)
- PD Provisional Deacon (¶¶ 324, 325)
- PE Provisional Elder (¶¶ 324, 325)
- PL Part-time Local Pastor (¶ 318.2)
- **RA** Retired Associate Member (¶ 357)
- **RD** Retired Deacon in Full connection (¶ 357)
- **RE** Retired Full Elder (¶ 357)
- **RP** Retired Provisional Member (¶ 357) (prior to Jan 1, 2013)
- RL Retired Local Pastor (¶¶ 320.5, 327.7)

Not a Disciplinary Code: SY - Other Supplies - Used by GCFA for assigned pastors

MARION DISTRICT (49 charges; 66 churches) STEVEN LEE BROWN, DS 1

BENNETTSVILLE: Bennettsville Charge – (Aaron Temple, Ebenezer) - Larry McCray (FL) 1 Bennettsville Parish - (Shiloh, Smyrna, St. Michael) - Maurice E. McZeke (PL) (1/2) 2 Bethel – Jimmy Lee Burks (OR) (¶346.1) 1 Level Green – Maye E. Malachi (PL) (1/2) 3 Shiloh – Barbara M. Webster (PL) (1/2) 9 Tatum Parish - (Ebenezer, Hebron) - Juanita B. Raber (PL) (1/2) 9 Trinity – Judith A. Knox 6 **BLENHEIM**: Parnassus – Alexander J. Stoops Jr. (PL) (1/2) 16 CLIO: Asbury-Old Clio – Sandra D. Stubbs (PL) (1/2) 5 CONWAY: Antioch-New El Bethel – Richard H. Knight (RE) (1/2) 7 Associate - Darrell W. Ricketts (PL) (1/4) 6 Centenary - Dennis J. Devorick (PL) (1/2) 11 Conway First – Kyle D. Randle 12 Associate – Emily L. Kirby (FD) (3/4) 2 Poplar – Ken R. Carter (RL) (1/4) 2 Salem – Joshua D. Keith (FL) 4 Trinity – William Hubert McCown III 1 Union – Joan E. Frenzel (FL) 2 DILLON: Dillon Parish – (Beulah, St. Luke, St. Stephen) - Rickey L. Stuckey (FL) 3 Little Rock Parish - (Bowling Green, McCoy Chapel, New Holly) - Ronald I. McCall (FL) 27 Oakland-Manning Chapel - T. Michael Summerlin (RL) (1/2) 13 Union - Frank Strickland (SY) (1/4) 7 FORK: Hopewell – James Allen Vaught (PL) (1/4) 1 GEORGETOWN: Duncan Memorial - E. Rossiter Chellis 4 Herbert Memorial - Charles L. Wilbanks (RE) 3 Oak Grove-Sampit - Gusta G. Ganes (RL) (1/2) 4 LAKE VIEW: Lake View – J. Preston Grimsley (RE) (1/2) 3 LATTA: Latta-Mount Andrew – Matthew C. Scott (OP) (¶346.1) 2 LITTLE RIVER: Little River – W. Russell Freeman 8 Associate – TBS Wampee – Michael D. Byrd (PL) (1/4) 1 LONGS: Ebenezer - Glen W. Dameron (OR) (¶346.1) (1/2) 3 LORIS: Camp Swamp - Vaughn E. Chichester (PL) (1/2) 3 MARION: Centenary - William L. Barber (PL) (1/4) 6 Central - SY (Rick Callaway) (1/2) 4 Marion First – C. Nicholas Lyerly (FL) 1 Marion Parish - (Bethel, Pleasant Grove, Springville) - Anthony Alford (PL) (1/2) 3 Shiloh - Cynthia A. Smith (FL) 4 St. Phillips - Ardell Washington (PL) (1/2) 9 MULLINS: Macedonia-Pleasant Hill - Brian E. Preveaux 3 Mullins Charge - (Beulah, Shiloh) - Mamie L. Hannah (PL) (1/2) 3 MURRELLS INLET: Belin Memorial - William F. Malambri III 5 Associate - W. Isaac Dusenbury 5 Associate - James T. Brown 4 **MYRTLE BEACH:** Joseph B. Bethea – Kim M. Strong (RE) (1/2) 2 Myrtle Beach First - Joel W. McMakin 2

Associate - Michelle D. Louk (OE) (¶346.1) 2 Associate-Spiritual Formation – Jim Creel, Jr. (PL) (1/4) 1 Socastee - Meredith M. Dark 2 The Brook – Deborah M. Patterson (PE) 5 NICHOLS: Nichols – James Allen Vaught (PL) (1/4) 1 NORTH MYRTLE BEACH: Trinity – Eugene A. Aiken 2 Associate - Edmond Daniel (RL) (1/4) 9 **PAWLEY'S ISLAND:** St. Paul's Waccamaw - John Robert Virgin (OE) (¶346.1) 2 SURFSIDE BEACH: Surfside - Mary V. Teasley 4 Associate - Tae S. Park 3 WALLACE: Ebenezer – Marvin W. Karn (PL) (1/4) 1 New Hope - Marvin W. Karn (PL) (1/4) 1 APPOINTMENTS TO EXTENSIÓN MINISTRIES: Within the Connection: Kirby, Emily L. – Director, Coastal Carolina Wesley Foundation (FD) (1/4) 2 Brown, Steven Lee. – District Superintendent, Marion District 1 Approved by United Methodist Endorsing Agency: None Other Valid Ministries: None APPOINTED TO ATTEND SCHOOL: None APPOINTED IN OTHER ANNUAL CONFERENCES: None LEAVE OF ABSENCE: None FAMILY LEAVE: None SABBATICAL LEAVE: None **MEDICAL LEAVE:** George, Samuel B., III – First UMC, Myrtle Beach CC 16 Harper, William N. - First UMC, Myrtle Beach CC 4 Inman, David C. - New EL Bethel CC 4 Todd, Steven M. - First UMC, Myrtle Beach CC 4 TRANSITIONAL LEAVE: None HONORABLE LOCATION:

Black, Michael Alec – First UMC-Conway

RETIREMENT

Retired Ministers:

Adams, Quay W. Alexander, Jr., Boyd McIver Brittain, Thomas N. Canine, David (RL) Carter, Kenneth R. (RL) Cavin, Donald E. Clemons, Robert B. **Chamblee, Daniel Walker** Collier, C Edward (RL) Collier, Rebecca R. (RL) Crews, Rowan Daniel, Edmond (RL) Donigian, George H. Dunn, Linda B. Dunn, Robert E. Dyer, Cynthia H. Felder, William H. Fenner, Jack L. Forrest, Rebecca L. (RL) Gafford, Ben M. Gafford, Dora. R. Ganes, Gusta G. (RL) Gardner Jr, Carlos O. Green, Mary E. Grimsley, J. Preston Hall, James L. Hemingway, John T. (RL) Heustess, William H. Howle, George K. Inabinet, Charles R.

Knight, Richard H. Land, Kenneth S. Lazar, Julian H. Lewis, Harold P. Lockard-Hawkins, Joanne (RL) **Malachi, Robert L.** Malphrus, Carolyn McGuirt, Milton L. McIver, Leslie H. (RD) Norris, Gene A. Nuckles, Marie E. Olive, George E. (RL) Phillips, William H. Powers, Kathy J. (RL)

Jennings, Charles T. (RA)

Reynolds, Daniel T. (RA) Roberts, Marsha R. (RD) Seaber Jr., Virgil M. (RL) Shaw, Bobby Smith, Ray K. Strong, Kim M. Stullenbarger, Harry R. Summerlin, T. Michael (RL) Timmons, W. Gordon Vance, Margaret Hutcherson (RD) Watson, Lawrence A. Weber, Stanley E., Jr. (RL) Wicker, William T. (RL) Wilbanks, Charles L. Williams, J. Tom

Retired Missionaries: None

DIACONAL MINISTRY

Diaconal Ministers: None Leave of Absence: Holt, Kimberly S. (DM) – Conway First CC 20 Retired Diaconal Ministers: None Active: None Retired: None DEACONESSES