↑ Return to Resources

Print this Page

Award Applications and Information

Nominees sought for 2015 Annual Conference awards

– Deadline is April 1. – Click Here


Barbara Boultinghouse Bridge Builder Award – PDF

The Barbara Boultinghouse Bridge Builder award, named after a UMC deaconess, is given to a person or organization in the S. C. conference who has built bridge of understanding by promoting equity and inclusiveness without regard to race, gender, age, handicap or economic condition. It is sponsored by the Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW). Deadline April 1st.

Bishop’s Five Star Award – PDF

Bishop’s Five Star Award provides an incentive for churches to embrace new ministries each year geared toward growth and outreach. The award enables small churches—as well as large churches—to receive recognition. The criteria are:
1) An increase in Sunday school attendance and/or enhancement of Christian education ministry;
2) A “new work” that impacts growth;
3) Members received by profession of faith or rededication one for every 100 members;
4) Emphasis on youth ministries that demonstrate growth; and
5) All apportionments paid in full for the prior year, or a 25% increase in apportionment payments compared to two years prior.

Applications and more details are found on the website and should be sent to:
Connectional Ministries Suite 108, 4908 Colonial Dr., Columbia, SC 29203
Data for the awards are based on previous year statistics. Recognition will be given to the pastor and one layperson at a breakfast during Annual Conference. Deadline April 1.

Denman Evangelism Award

About Harry Denman

In 1981, the Denman Evangelism Awards were introduced so that Annual Conferences could have the opportunity of honoring one clergy one layperson and one youth who are doing the work of responsible evangelism in the local church. This can involve speaking, personal witnessing or inspiring the church to be involved in evangelism. These persons may or may not have the best statistical record, and may be from any size church. The ones honored should be persons whose life-styles bring honor to Christ and the church. Keep in mind that the Denman Evangelism Award was established to recognize those who are doing this vital work in ways that are in keeping with the United Methodist history and

The South Carolina Conference Board of Evangelism invites you to nominate one clergy one layperson and one youth from South Carolina United Methodism who have been leaders in evangelism. Please try to limit your nominations to the one-page nomination form.

Forms may be found on the conference website and mailed to: Connectional Ministries Suite 108, 4908 Colonial Dr., Columbia, SC 29203. Deadline April 1st.

Joseph B. Bethea Distingushed Service Award – PDF

The Joseph B. Bethea Distinguished Service Award is presented to a person who has performed outstanding service in working for racial justice. Laity or clergy of the S.C. conference are eligible if she or he has shown a strong commitment to Christian social justice for at least five years (unless the individual is a youth). Specific efforts toward elimination of racism and/or building inclusiveness and/or empowerment of persons considered a minority racially or ethnically is a criterion, as is Christian character and servant-hood.
Forms for nominations should be completed and sent to Connectional Ministries Suite 108, 4908 Colonial Dr., Columbia, SC 29203. Deadline April 1st.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.umcsc.org/home/resources/award-applications-and-information/