Print this Post

Nominees sought for 2017 Annual Conference awards

The time has come to nominate outstanding clergy and laity in the South Carolina Conference of The United Methodist Church for awards to be presented at the 2017 Annual Conference Meeting.

Five awards will be presented during the June 4-7 event at the TD Center in Greenville.

All application forms or letters of nomination must be mailed to:

Connectional Ministries
Suite 108
4908 Colonial Drive
Columbia, SC 29203

Application deadline for all awards:
April 3

Bishop’s Five-Star Award

Provides an incentive for churches to embrace new ministries each year geared toward growth and outreach. The award enables small and large churches to receive recognition. Criteria include:

  • An increase in Sunday school attendance and/or enhancement of Christian education ministry;
  • A “new work” that impacts growth;
  • Members received by profession of faith or rededication one for every 100 members;
  • Emphasis on youth ministries that demonstrate growth; and
  • All apportionments paid in full for 2016, or a 25 percent increase in apportionment payments compared to two years prior.

Data for the awards are based on 2016 statistics. Recognition will be given to the pastor and one layperson at a breakfast during Annual Conference.

The award is sponsored by the Board of Evangelism.

Click here to download the application form.

Denman Evangelism Award

Established in 1980 by The Foundation for Evangelism, this award honors pastors and laypersons for responsible evangelism in the local church. In 1981, the national award was introduced to annual conferences to choose a clergy person, a layperson and a youth each year.

The award recognizes people who are effective in making disciples of Jesus Christ, whether through speaking, personal witnessing, inspiring the church to be involved in evangelism, etc. This person may or may not have the best statistical record and may be from any size church. Nominees’ lifestyles bring honor to Christ, the church and works in ways that are in keeping with the United Methodist history and traditions.

The award is sponsored by The Foundation for Evangelism.

Click here to download the application form.

Barbara Boultinghouse Bridge Builder Award

Named in honor of a United Methodist deaconess, this award is given to a person or organization in the S.C. Conference who has built bridges of understanding by promoting equity and inclusiveness without regard to race, gender, age, handicap or economic condition.

The award is sponsored by the General Commission on Religion and Race.

Nominations are made by way of letter.

Michael C. Watson Volunteer in Mission Award

Recognizes clergy and laypersons who exemplify extraordinary volunteer mission service within the S.C. Conference.

The award is sponsored by the General Board of Global Ministries.

Nominations are made by way of letter.

Joseph Benjamin Bethea Distinguished Service Award

Presented to a person who has performed outstanding service in working for racial justice. Laity or clergy of the S.C. Conference are eligible if she or he has shown a strong commitment to Christian social justice for at least five years (unless the individual is a youth).

Specific efforts toward elimination of racism and/or building inclusiveness and/or empowerment of persons considered a minority (racially or ethnically) is a criterion, as is Christian character and servanthood.

The award is sponsored by the Commission on Religion and Race.

Click here to download the application form.


Permanent link to this article: http://www.umcsc.org/home/nominees-sought-for-2017-annual-conference-awards/