THE BOARD OF EVANGELISM

Over the past year, the Board continues to be dedicated to providing resources and training at nominal or no cost for local churches in South Carolina. These programs and resources are identified by the churches and the Conference in South Carolina. The Board was intentional about reviewing and/or modifying/adapting current programs in an attempt to better meet the needs of the United Methodist Church specifically in South Carolina.

The Board proposes to continue the Five-Star Award and the Denman Evangelism Recognition this year. The Board elected to change the title from Denman Award to Denman Recognition, in that evangelism is a life-style for these recipients and we are recognizing this gift, dedication and response in their lives. The Reverend Doctor Tim McClendon was the clergy recipient and Ms. Shirley Mackin was the lay recipient in 2006. This year's recipients will be announced at the breakfast during the 2007 session of Annual Conference. In 2006, there were 21 recipients of the Five-Star Award. Recipients of this year's Awards will be announced at the 2007 session.

The Board has worked diligently and faithfully this year in attempting to accurately project the budgetary needs for the coming year, including reducing monetary requests from the Annual Conference budget.

The Bishop's B.A.S.H. was held at Lexington UMC on March 24th. This is considered to be a significant and valuable event by this Board. Confirmands, adult chaperones, parents, youth leaders, and pastors are afforded a time set apart for education, fellowship, Holy Communion, and a meal. Attendees have the opportunity to meet and get to know Bishop Taylor as well as other leaders in the South Carolina Conference in this unique setting.

The Board of Evangelism would like to thank the Bishop and the Cabinet for continuing to encourage churches to participate in these awards and recognitions. The Board is also deeply appreciative of Bishop Taylor's participation and support of the B.A.S.H. for youth around our state.

Rufus Foster, Chairperson Sandra Stevens Poirel, Secretary